Trans-Mongolian Adventure | Moscow – Ulaanbaatar – Beijing

Rail Journeys

Trans Mongolian Adventure, a 16-day rail adventure, from SGD 3,699 per person
Trip prices DO NOT include international airfare & airport taxes.

Epic doesn't begin to describe this railway journey from Russia to China. Beginning in Moscow, your trip on the legendary Trans-Siberian Railway will take you across the steppe to experience secluded Mongolia's colourful culture. Disembark and spend a night in a ger before continuing on to the palaces of Beijing. An experienced Chief Experience Office will lead the way and take care of the details so you’re free to enjoy one of the world's greatest train rides. Whether on board or off, this will be 16 days to remember for the rest of your life.

Click here for a longer 21D Trans Mongolian Express rail adventure.

16 Days
From SGD 3,699Per Person

Trans Mongolian Adventure Itinerary

Arrive at any time. Want to experience St Petersburg? Book the St Petersburg Express, a four-day pre-tour package. Speak to us to book.

Enjoy free time to explore Moscow's numerous museums and galleries, the Kremlin, or Lenin's Mausoleum.

Board the train and start one of the world's most famous rail routes. Journey 88 hours across the Ural Mountains and through the wilds of the Siberian taiga forests. Arrive in the evening on Day 06.

Continue on your journey and soak in the amazing landscapes. Share laughs and drinks with fellow passengers— Russians and foreigners alike.

Continue on your journey and soak in the amazing landscapes. Share laughs and drinks with fellow passengers— Russians and foreigners alike.

The long stretch by rail culminates in beautiful Irkutsk, the Paris of Siberia.

Arrive into Irkutsk in the morning. Drive to the village of Listvyanka and enjoy a homestay on the shore of Lake Baikal. Opt to try a banya (Russian sauna), go on a boat trip on the lake, or take an invigorating swim. Enjoy incredible local meals prepared by your host.

Exclusive Inclusion: Local Living Listvyanka Homestay

Meals included: Dinner

Enjoy a guided tour of Irkutsk before 2 nights on the train to Ulaanbaatar.

Meals included: Breakfast

Cross the border into Mongolia and watch the scenery change from dense forests to grassland.

Arrive in Mongolia and spend some time getting to know the capital city.

Drive to nearby Terelj National Park to stay in a traditional ger (yurt). Options to hike, or try traditional archery.

Exclusive Inclusion: Local Living Traditional Ger Stay

Meals included: Breakfast | Lunch | Dinner

Head back to Ulaanbaatar with a free day to explore the capital. Opt to visit the local Chinggis Brewery, watch a cultural show with Mongolian throat singing, or visit the Gandan Monastery for a taste of Tibetan Buddhism.

Meals included: Breakfast

Board the train for the final 30-hour train ride. At the border, the train changes wheels to match the different gauge. Opt to stay on the train and watch.

Meals included: Breakfast

Arrive in Beijing and start exploring this buzzing capital of China. Opt to visit the Forbidden City or Tiananmen Square.

Enjoy an included visit to the Great Wall and walk along the Mutianyu section.

Depart at any time.

Is the tour for me?

Travel Style Rail
Get closer to the big cities, isolated communities, and stunning landscapes of the world's greatest destinations via train-based adventures on iconic rail routes like the Glacier Express, the Darjeeling Himalayan Railway, and the Trans-Siberian.

Service Level Basic
Simple and clean hotels and hostels; affordable public and private transport; lots of optional activities.

Physical Rating Light
Light walking and hiking suitable for most fitness levels. Nothing too challenging.

Trip Type Small Group
Small group experience; Max 16, avg 12.

Age requirement: 12+
All travellers under 18 must be accompanied by an adult.

Trip Cost

Price per person in SGD dollars

  • from $3,699 ~ Adult Twin

Inclusions

  • Local Living Traditional Ger Stay, Gorkhi Terelj National Park
  • Trans-Siberian Railway
  • Trans-Mongolian Railway
  • Irkutsk city tour
  • Great Wall entrance (Beijing)
  • Local meal suggestions and language and border-crossing support throughout
  • All transport between destinations and to/from included activities
  • Accommodations Simple guesthouses/hotels (7 nights), sleeper trains (7 nights), Mongolian ger (1 night).
  • Meals 4 breakfasts, 1 lunch, 2 dinners; allow USD420-550 for meals not included.
  • Transportation Train, private bus, taxi, metro, walking.
  • Staff & experts Chief Experience Officer (CEO) throughout, local guides.

Trip Dates

  • Sat, 07 Apr - Sun, 22 Apr $3699
  • Sat, 21 Apr - Sun, 06 May $3699
  • Sat, 28 Apr - Sun, 13 May $3699
  • Sat, 12 May - Sun, 27 May $3699
  • Sat, 19 May - Sun, 03 Jun $3699
  • Sat, 02 Jun - Sun, 17 Jun $4079
  • Sat, 16 Jun - Sun, 01 Jul $4079
  • Sat, 30 Jun - Sun, 15 Jul $4079
  • Sat, 14 Jul - Sun, 29 Jul $4079
  • Sat, 21 Jul - Sun, 05 Aug $4079
  • Sat, 04 Aug - Sun, 19 Aug $4079
  • Sat, 18 Aug - Sun, 02 Sep $4079
  • Sat, 01 Sep - Sun, 16 Sep $4079
  • Sat, 22 Sep - Sun, 07 Oct $4079
  • Sat, 06 Oct - Sun, 21 Oct $3699
  • Sat, 20 Oct - Sun, 04 Nov, 2018 $3699
  • Sat, 06 Apr - Sun, 21 Apr, 2019 $3699
  • Sat, 20 Apr - Sun, 05 May $3699
  • Sat, 27 Apr - Sun, 12 May $3699
  • Sat, 11 May - Sun, 26 May $3699
  • Sat, 18 May - Sun, 02 Jun $3699
  • Sat, 01 Jun - Sun, 16 Jun $4079
  • Sat, 29 Jun - Sun, 14 Jul $4079
  • Sat, 13 Jul - Sun, 28 Jul $4079
  • Sat, 20 Jul - Sun, 04 Aug $4079
  • Sat, 27 Jul - Sun, 11 Aug $4079
  • Sat, 03 Aug - Sun, 18 Aug $4079
  • Sat, 17 Aug - Sun, 01 Sep $4079
  • Sat, 31 Aug - Sun, 15 Sep $4079
  • Sat, 07 Sep - Sun, 22 Sep$4079
  • Sat, 14 Sep - Sun, 29 Sep $4079
  • Sat, 21 Sep - Sun, 06 Oct $4079
  • Sat, 05 Oct - Sun, 20 Oct $3699
  • Sat, 19 Oct - Sun, 03 Nov, 2019 $3699

Trip Map

Trans-Mongolian Adventure